Since 1974 Nicosia is the divided capital of Cyprus. After a change in power in the norther part in 2005 and in the Republic of Cyprus (southern part) in 2008, both parts are moving towards rapprochement with the border crossing at “Ledra Street” being re-opened in 2008 after more than 30 years. Industry and tourism play a major role in the southern part of the city.
jerusalem adana aleppo alexandria amman beirut cairo damascus elat aqaba gaza gaziantep haifa hama homs irbid latakia limassol mersin nicosia port said suez tel aviv-yafo tripoli zarqa ies abstract links